Old Stone House
Tucked along M Street in Georgetown, just east of the towpath, is an historic gem often missed by Washington D.C.’s swarming monument seekers. The Old Stone House (3051 M St., NW) is the oldest structure on its original foundation in the nation’s capital.
Christopher and Rachael Layman bought the lot in 1764 for one pound, ten shillings and built a single-room home made of local blue fieldstone a year later. Improved by different owners over the years, the home was spared demolition because it was believed George Washington used it as a headquarters when planning the capital city. Although the Old Stone House never served in that capacity, the legend helped preserve a fine example of pre-revolutionary architecture. It was sold in 1953 to the National Park Service.
CHECK IT OUT: Look up at the massive oak beams in the main living area. Tool marks left by the craftsmen suggest that one of the carpenters was right-handed while the other was left-handed.